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Dear Mr. Mills:

The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) of the U.S. Department of
Health and Human Services, under authority of federal law, imposes a requirement on
state governments to ensure that nurse aides have the education and clinical skills
necessary to care for residents of long term care facilities. See 42 C.F.R. Part 483.
These regulations also require that each State maintain a nurse aide Registry, which,
pursuant to 42 C.F.R. 483.156(c)(1)(iv), must contain all substantiated findings by the
State of resident mistreatment, abuse, neglect, or misappropriation of resident property
by a certified nurse aide.

The Certification Program of the New Jersey State Department of Health (Department)
was notified of the results of an investigation in which there was sufficient information
that you abused a vulnerable elderly resident.

You are accused of abuse and neglect of a disabled hospital resident that occurred on or
about September 25, 2019, while you were employed as a certified nurse aide at the
Select Specialty Hospital, located in Rochelle Park, New Jersey. Specifically, it is alleged
that you rubbed your hand over the clothed penis area of a physically disabled victim. The
Rochelle Park Police charged you with aggravated criminal sexual contact and
abandonment and neglect of a disabled adult. Your actions were willful and constitute
abuse in accordance with the federal definitions under 42 C.F.R. 483.5.

The Department summarily suspended you on October 16, 2019. The Department
issued a Right to Hearing letter on August 3, 2022. You failed to request a hearing for
the Summary Suspension in the allotted 30 day time limit. You also failed to request a
hearing in the allotted 30 days from the date of the Right to Hearing notice. The



Department has not received any evidence that you did not receive the notices. In fact,
you signed for the Right to Hearing certified mail.

Therefore, in accordance with 42 C.F.R. 483.156(c)(1)(iv), please be advised that a
finding of abuse will be placed next to your name on the Registry and will remain on the
Registry permanently. Please also be advised that your certification is revoked.

Please surrender your nurse aide certificate and wallet card to:

Office of Program Compliance-Reporting
25 South Stockton Street, 3rd Floor
Trenton, NJ 08625-0358

The certificate and the wallet card are no longer valid, and the status of your
nurse aide certification is now revoked.

Please be advised that pursuant to N.J.A.C. 8:39-43.1(a)(1), only individuals who
maintain a currently valid nurse aide certificate and are registered in good standing on
the Registry are considered by the Department to be competent to work as a certified
nurse aide in a licensed long term care facility. A certified nurse aide is no longer
registered in good standing if a finding of abuse, neglect or misappropriation by the
certified nurse aide’s name is included on the Registry. Therefore, you are prohibited
from employment as a certified nurse aide when a finding of Abuse remains next to your
name on the Registry.

In accordance with 42 C.F.R. 483.156 and N.J.A.C. 8:39-43.7, you are entitled to submit
a written statement contesting the findings noted above. This statement will be
maintained on the Registry. If you wish to submit such a written statement, you must do
so within 20 days of the date of this letter. Your letter should reference “Notice of
Revocation of Nurse Aide Certificate: Contested Findings.”

Please forward this statement to the Office of Program Compliance-Reporting along
with your nurse aide certification and your nurse aidg wallet card to the address listed in

this letter.
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